Updating Basket....

Sign In
0 Items

BASKET SUMMARY

There are currently no items added to the basket
Sign In
0 Items

BASKET SUMMARY

There are currently no items added to the basket

God & Money

The Moral Challenge of Capitalism

God & Money

The Moral Challenge of Capitalism

This item is available to order.
Please allow 2-3 weeks for delivery.

Hardback

£23.95

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9780742552227
Number of Pages: 352
Published: 01/02/2007
Width: 16.2 cm
Height: 23.8 cm
God & Money confronts the current dominant right wing Republican / evangelical Christian view that unfettered, market-driven capitalism and Christian faith and values are compatible. Drawing on such ethical luminaries as Reinhold Niebuhr, G.K. Chesterton, Peter Berger, and John Paul II, author Charles McDaniel shows that to reverse the current decline in public morality, capitalism must be balanced by enduring religious and moral values. Challenging the captivity of Christian culture by free market, global capitalism, McDaniel joins other Christian ethical visionaries in advocating a "redemptive economy," one that champions individual human dignity, true community, and the moral regeneration of cultural traditions in vital dialectic with the inevitable market capitalism of the contemporary world.

Charles McDaniel, Jr.

Charles McDaniel, a successful business entrepreneur, now focuses on the interplay of economics, religion, and values. He is visiting professor of Church-State Relations at Baylor University. He lives in Waco, Texas.

God & Money is a strikingly original, subtly nuanced and learned book. It insists that, while there is no 'Christian' economics as such, it is both possible and necessary to bring virtue, morality and compassion to economic life. In the tradition of Max Weber and Daniel Bell, McDaniel suggests that capitalism-unless social compensations are in place-can tend to erode the moral bases which elevate the status of human persons, so they do not become commodities. This important book will be an indispensable study for social ethicists, students of neo-conservatism and those who are concerned about the moral bases of economic life. -- John A. Coleman, S.J., Casassa Professor of Social Values, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles Charles McDaniel's God and Money makes an invaluable contribution to the discussion of theology and economics. He persuasively demonstrates the moral and theological mistakes attending the neoconservative rapprochement with the Austrian school. Then he carefully develops the theological economics of Niebuhr, Chesterton and John Paul II showing how their work points in the direction of a 'morally redemptive economy,' which is as concerned with the good as with value. This is a temperate, carefully argued work that should be discussed by all those working in the intersection of theology and economics. -- Steve Long, Associate professor of systematic theology, Garrett Evangelical Theological Seminary

Friends Scheme

Our online book club offers discounts on hundreds of titles...